The Scrum Master

A Scrum Master is responsible for facilitating the daily stand-up meeting in Scrum and for removing any impediments that come up to block progress on the project.  The Scrum Master where I work has not been one for long, yet he is a pioneer for the Scrum method of Agile at my workplace.  He has a sharp wit and a lot of experience with IT projects.

Even though the Scrum Master is new to Agile and Scrum he has done a good job of educating himself on the principles, and more importantly, he has done a good job of putting them into practice.

When I asked him if he could talk to me about what he was doing during the Scrum process he agreed to show me.  I could immediately tell that Scrum had really caught his interest.  He showed me the Scrum board where there were a spattering of post-its in the various to be done, in progress and completed columns.  One thing that his group does a little differently is that they have a testing preparation column.  This ensures that there is a way to test the change as it is being developed and directly after.  He also showed me the software version of a Scrum board.  His group is trying out a free online software program called Scrumdo.

I found the time enlightening and I wanted to know more so he recommended the book, “The Power of Scrum” by Jeff Sutherland.  He told me that if I really wanted to get a feel for what Scrum is all about in practice, I should pick up the book and read it.  He assured me that it is a quick and entertaining read and that it should not take me more than a couple of hours to read.

So, meeting with the Scrum Master was very helpful.  I will pick up the book and let you know how it is in my next post.

Are  you a Scrum Master or do you work with one?  Please tell me about it in the comment section.

Leave a Reply

